Hungarian Gems 1

Buy ticketBuy season ticket

JUDIT VARGA: Happy Birthday, Major Ludwig! – Hungarian premiere
LÁSZLÓ DUBROVAY: Trumpet Concerto No. 2
DOHNÁNYI: Suite in F-sharp minor , Op. 19

Performed by: Gábor Boldoczki trumpet
Concerto Budapest
Conductor: Tibor Bogányi

This programme of works by Hungarian composers running from 1909 to 2021, or more accurately, from 2021 back to 1909, straight away brings to mind – besides Judit Varga, László Dubrovay and Ernő Dohnányi – that German titan of classical music, Ludwig van Beethoven. The kinetic concert work Happy Birthday, Major Ludwig! was penned for the 2020 Year of Beethoven, forming a part of a collective creation that in addition to Judit Varga involved four other contemporary composers. Following on from the piece that debuted at the Hamburg Elbphilharmonie podium in 2021, next up is László Dubrovay’s 2002 Trumpet Concerto No. 2 (similarly with German associations); the virtuosic solo skills of Gábor Boldoczki were also on display at the world premiere of the symphonic orchestra version of the concerto. Finally, the programme concludes with the Suite in F-sharp minor from the oeuvre of Ernő Dohnányi: the four-movement composition goes by the name of ‘Romantic’, although the work’s (late) Romantic nature is joined by a cheerful aspect typical of the composer as well as humorous ballet and waltz allusions, as already brought to the surface on numerous occasions through the conducting of Tibor Bogányi who is well versed in the intricacies of the suite.

The concert could be visited with the following season tickets