BACH 340 // Engegård / Kaczander / Szilágyi / Várjon

Buy ticketBuy season ticket

Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 4, BWV 1049
Bach: Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major, BWV 1068
Bach: Piano Concerto in D major, BWV 1054
Bach–Mozart: Fugues, K. 405
Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 5, BWV 1050

Arvid Engegård violin, Orsolya Kaczander, Szabolcs Szilágyi flute, Dénes Várjon piano

Concerto Budapest
Conductor: Arvid Engegård

photo: Espen+Mortensen

The 340th year may not be a particularly notable jubilee, but when it comes to Johann Sebastian Bach, these kinds of anniversaries are gratefully received as ample reason for additional tributes. By, for example, gathering some great musicians to perform Bach’s musical pieces, suites, concertos and fugues – the latter compelled Mozart to later take on a role as co-composer – as we shall see in this concert. Concerto Budapest is delighted to welcome back the Norwegian violinist and conductor Arvid Engegård, while the evening will also feature the play of soloists like the superb flautist Orsolya Kaczander, and Dénes Várjon, who will perform the solo of a concerto for keyboard instruments in D major, registered as BWV 1054. Alongside his fellow musicians, Dénes Várjon will naturally take the leading role in the performance of one of two Brandenburg Concertos in the programme. Concerto No. 5 is often identified as one of the pioneers of the piano concerto genre and its very first masterpiece – even if the solo of this iconic Bach work was originally written for the harpsichord.

The concert could be visited with the following season tickets