BARBER / GLASS / SCHUBERT / BEETHOVEN // Kremer / Dirvanauskaité / Keller

Buy ticketBuy season ticket

Barber: Adagio for Strings, Op. 11
Philip Glass: Double Concerto
Schubert: Polonaise in B-flat major, D. 580
Beethoven: String Quartet No. 13 in B-flat major, Op. 130 – Cavatina
Schubert: Symphony No. 8 in B major (‘Unfinished’), D. 759

Gidon Kremer violin, Giedrė Dirvanauskaitė cello

Concerto Budapest

Conductor: András Keller 

*Tickets for this concert are sold using a Dynamic Pricing. Learn more about Dynamic Pricing.

This concert conducted by András Keller will feature sounds of melancholy and others that encourage reflection and profound introspection. The opening piece for the concert will be Samuel Barber’s deservedly popular Adagio for Strings, providing us with an opportunity for emotion and stirring reflection. In keeping with the contemporary composer’s inimitable style, Philip Glass’s 2010 Double Concerto will present the listener with some moments of contemplation, though this performance of the 30-minute violin and cello-centred composition is also bound to evoke sentiments of exultant joy as the violin soloist, the marvellous Gidon Kremer, works closely alongside the superb Lithuanian cellist Giedrė Dirvanauskaitė. We will then hear a second performance from Kremer as we enjoy the noble verve of Schubert’s Polonaise in B-flat major. Beethoven admitted that he composed the fifth movement of his late String Quartet No. 13 in B-flat major with tears in his eyes. This is entirely credible given that the moving cavatina, which is also highly effective as an orchestral piece, is the epitome of pained beauty. The composition finds an ideal partner in the second half of the concert with a performance of Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony.

The concert could be visited with the following season tickets