BARTÓK / BEETHOVEN / R. STRAUSS // Baráti / Szűcs / Fenyő / Balázs / Keller

Buy ticketBuy season ticket

Béla Bartók: Hungarian Pictures, BB 103
Beethoven: Triple Concerto for Violin, Cello and Piano in C major, Op. 56
R. Strauss: Don Quixote, Op. 35

Kristóf Baráti violin, Máté Szűcs viola, László Fenyő cello, János Balázs piano

Concerto Budapest
Conductor: András Keller

This concert conducted by András Keller offers us an entire troupe of wonderful instrumental soloists, including artist of the season Kristóf Baráti, who will open the evening with an orchestral composition inspired by a piano cycle: Hungarian Pictures, which starts with the movement An Evening in the Village. Following this work by Bartók, we can count on hearing some amazingly high-level interplay between Baráti, László Fenyő and János Balázs in Beethoven’s triple concerto. The piece’s piano part was composed for a young Habsburg archduke in the early 19th century. The symphonic poem planned for the second part poses a rewarding and extremely demanding challenge for the entire Concerto Budapest ensemble, and particularly the artists taking on the solo viola and cello parts. Evoking the two legendary main characters from the Cervantes novel with their instrumental playing at this performance of Strauss’s 1897 work Don Quixote will be László Fenyő and Máté Szűcs, with the sound of the solo cello representing the sad-faced knight and that of the viola his faithful squire Sancho Panza.

The concert could be visited with the following season tickets