BARTÓK / SCHÖNBERG / BRAHMS // Aimard / Kaczander / Klenyán / Keller Quartet

Buy ticketBuy season ticket

Bartók: Violin Sonata No. 2, BB 85
Schönberg: Chamber Symphony
Brahms: Piano Quintet in F minor, Op. 34

Pierre-Laurent Aimard piano, Orsolya Kaczander flute, Csaba Klenyán clarinet, Keller Quartet (András Keller, Zsófia Környei violin, Máté Szűcs viola, László Fenyő cello)

László Fenyő fotó: Marco Borggreve

Taking the stage at this chamber concert will be a select group of performers, joined by the members of the Keller Quartet and the world-renowned French pianist Pierre-Laurent Aimard, flautist Zsófia Kaczander and clarinettist Csaba Klenyán. The programme for the concert, which opens with Bartók’s second sonata for violin and piano, is at least as representative as the list of performers. Serving as the two soloists for this piece that was first premiered at the Liszt Academy in 1923 by the composer and Ede Zathureczky will be the equally worthy András Keller and Aimard. After the Bartók composition, which also reveals the influence of Arnold Schönberg, we will hear the first of the latter composer’s two chamber symphonies: composed in 1906, it gives the listener no more than a hint of the future output from the master of dodecaphony and atonality. The last piece of the concert is one of the ‘early’ top achievements Johannes Brahms made in the realm of chamber music and a gem of the Romantic chamber literature as a whole: dating from the mid-1860s, the Piano Quintet in F minor was originally intended as a string quintet.

The concert could be visited with the following season tickets