GLINKA / PLETNEV // Nakariakov / Pletnev

Buy ticketBuy season ticket

Glinka: Valse-Fantasie
Mikhail Pletnev: Trumpet Concerto (Hungarian premiere)
Mikhail Pletnev: 14 Images for Orchestra (Hungarian premiere)

Sergei Nakariakov trumpet

Concerto Budapest
Conductor: Mikhail Pletnev

photo: Thierry Cohen

For this concert, the conductor and composer Mikhail Pletnevr and the always-astonishing virtuoso trumpet player Sergei Nakariakov will take centre stage. The programme will open with Mikhail Glinka’s Waltz Fantasy, which he originally composed for piano (1839), before much later (1856) writing a second version for the orchestra. It will be followed by a new, convincingly elegant concert number that was composed with Nakariakov’s outstanding talents in mind, and inspired by Russian folk melodies, the dance music of the Strauss family, and Weber’s Invitation to the Dance. Indeed, Mikhail Pletnev intended the trumpet concerto, which will be performed in Hungary for the first time, for his compatriot Nakariakov, who has been deservedly described as both the Paganini and the Caruso of the trumpet. In addition to working as a pianist and conductor, Pletnev has long been active as a composer. The Budapest audience can also look forward to encountering one more notable composition from the celebrated Russian musician, 14 Orchestral Images, which will also be making its Hungarian debut.

The concert could be visited with the following season tickets