Buy ticketBuy season ticket

Bach: Concerto for Two Violins in C minor, BWV 1060
Chausson: Poème
Tchaikovsky: Valse-Scherzo, Op. 34
R. Strauss: Ein Heldenleben, Op. 40

Marc Bouchkov, Kristóf Baráti violin

Concerto Budapest
Conductor: Kristóf Baráti 

Marc Bouchkov photo: Nikolaj Lund

What might interest the audience about this concert, which will be conducted by artist of the season Kristóf Baráti, is the diversity of the programme in terms of eras and cultures, as well as the unique collaboration between two great violinists. He and Marc Bouchkov, a Belgian of Russian-Ukrainian origin, will first perform the Bach Double Concerto in C minor, which, although primarily known as a keyboard concerto, is also increasingly performed in a reconstructed form with two violin soloists. This will be followed by French composer Ernest Chausson’s most popular composition from the very end of the 19th century, Poème, created for the epochal violin virtuoso Eugène Ysaÿe – amidst great scepticism on the part of the composer – followed by another extremely extravagant Romantic piece for violin and full orchestra to close the first part of the evening: Tchaikovsky’s Valse-Scherzo in C major. The two marvellous artists will continue to collaborate after the interval as well, with Bouchkov serving as the concertmaster for Richard Strauss’s 1899 symphonic poem Ein Heldenleben, a piece in which the composer ‘naturally’ saw himself as the hero.


The concert could be visited with the following season tickets