Cancelled - Beethoven Piano Sonatas 7: Gábor Csalog

Beethoven: Sonata in E minor, Op. 90                                            

Beethoven: Six Bagatelles, Op. 126 - excerpts                                           

Beethoven: Sonata in E major, Op. 109            

Performer: Gábor Csalog piano                  

Beethoven returned to the genre of piano sonata in 1814 after a gap of several years with the E minor sonata comprising just two movements. A Contest between Head and Heart, and Conversation with the Beloved – according to the dubious claims of Anton Schindler, the master’s last secretary and one of his first biographers, who was caught out several times in inventing music history stories, these would have been the movement titles of the sonata, referring to the then love affair of Prince Lichnowsky, to whom the work was dedicated. The story of the origin of the E major sonata composed in 1820 is more authentic: in this year Beethoven contracted with a Berlin publisher to compose three piano sonatas. The only problem was that the master had difficulties with this ‘forced labour’, so at the suggestion of his then secretary Oliva he reused as the overture to the first sonata to be delivered the bagatelle in E major, which somewhat earlier he had prepared for the Wiener Pianoforte-Schule publication comprising small piano pieces by contemporary Viennese composers. Liszt Prize holder Gábor Csalog performs at the last concert because as is common knowledge, the artist has shown not only exemplary commitment in playing contemporary music but he is at the same time an authority on interpreting Beethoven.