György Vashegyi, Katalin Szutrély, Mihály Berecz - online concert broadcast

MOZART: Idomeneo – overture, K. 366
MOZART: Ch’io mi scordi di te, K. 505
HAYDN: Symphony No. 21 in A major
--- intermission ---
BEETHOVEN: Ah, perfido, Op. 65
MOZART: Piano Concerto in G major, K. 453

KatalinSzutrély soprano, Mihály Berecz piano, Concerto Budapest
Conductor: György Vashegyi

 We're broadcasting this performance live! CLICK HERE TO WATCH LIVESTREAM

The programme evoking the holy trinity of the First Viennese School promises two concert arias in addition to the traditionally defining principal elements of the concert, that is, the overture, the concerto and the symphony. What is more, the Mozartian “Ch’io mi scordi di te?” is in effect an entire opera scene, prepared as a new insertion-aria in his first formulation, which was for a private performance in Vienna of Idomeneo (1786) that is also represented at this concert with its overture. Beethoven’s “Ah, perfido!” aria dates from a decade later but in several respects it reflects on the past because its libretto begins with a recitativo borrowed from a Metastasio libretto, while the part now sung in soprano by Katalin Szutrély was first performed by Josepha Duschek, a singer from Prague and friend of Mozart. The other soloist of this recital, Mihály Berecz Jnr., accompanies the Mozart aria while his main role is the principal part of the G major piano concerto, Köchel catalogue number 453. It once again offers him the opportunity to demonstrate his performance maturity, confident style and technique.