Mikhail Pletnev, Kristóf Baráti and the Concerto Budapest

Wagner: Tristan und Isolde – prelude, WWV 90
Schumann: Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 54
Franck: Symphony in D minor, Op. 48

Mikhail Pletnev piano
Conductor: Kristóf Baráti

In "INZERT" co-operation with the Örkény István Theatre: Gabriella Hámori

“Pletnev Plays Schumann.” Deutsche Grammophon gave this title to their solo disc of the pianist (born in Arkhangelsk) in 2004. This production is also at the centre of this concert: after numerous concerts where Pletnev conducted the orchestra, this time he will be the soloist for Schumann’s Concerto for Piano in A minor. The pianist-conductor is one of the closest partners of Concerto Budapest. On the other hand, the programme brings the audience right into the very heart of Romanticism: the opening piece will be the Prelude to Tristan and Isolde, which was explained by Wagner as follows: “Insatiate desire rises only once, in a long and disjointed sequence, in order to find a breakthrough that will open the way for the heart of boundless desire to the sea of infinite amorous delight. In vain! The heart collapses impuissant to wither in a longing that does not reach its goal, because each achievement only gives rise to a new desire, until, in the last agony, a premonition of the attainment of supreme delight flashes through the dying eyes: it is the delight of death.” Although it is considered mistakenly by many that César Franck composed only one piece, in the second part of the concert, his popular Symphony in D minor will be performed, conducted by Kristóf Baráti. The symphony was completed in 1888.