Arcus Temporum in Budapest

László Vidovszky: Promenade (vibraphone version)
Messiaen: Quartet for the end of time – Louange á l'Immortalité de Jésus 
J. S. Bach: Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor, BWV 1052
R. Strauss: Metamorphosen
Beethoven: String Quartet No. 13 in B-flat major, op. 130 – 5. Cavatina

András Keller violin, Gábor Csalog piano
Concerto Budapest
Conductor: András Keller

This year, the arch of time of Arcus Temporum is coupled with a spatial distance, and not only due to online streaming but also because the traditionally Pannonhalma-based festival is moving to Budapest this one time. Borrowing the relevant term describing the event best comes from one of the works on our programme: the concert will be a kind of "metamorphosis", which will nevertheless leave the traditional soul and spirit of Arcus Temporum unscathed. This fidelity is warranted not only by the persons of the long-established artistic director, András Keller and the soloist Gábor Csalog but also the programme crossing, connecting and juxtaposing various periods of music history. In this spirit, the vibraphone version of László Vidovszky's originally occasionally dramatic Promanade from 2015 will be followed by one of Bach's keyboard concertos, then a piece written by the elderly Strauss, which - with its title and creation history - will evoke a wide range of transformations, "metamorphoses", as well as the wise lines from Goethe's poem (Niemand wird sich selber kennen - No one can really know himself). The final 6-7 minutes will top and conclude the event with the dreamily beautiful movement, the awe-filled "Cavatina" from Beethoven's late string quartet, op. 130.