Gergely Bogányi, Gábor Boldoczki and Concerto Budapest

Concerto Russo III.

J. S. Bach:Orchestral Suite in C major (BWV 1066)
Shostakovich: Piano Concerto No. 1, op. 35
Fazil Say: Trumpet Concerto, op. 31 (Hungary premiere)
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 9 in E-flat major, op. 70

Featuring: Gergely Bogányi (piano), Gábor Boldoczki (trumpet)
Conductor: Ádám Medveczky

Two fine artists assist at this exciting concert of rarely-performed works given by Concerto Budapest. Gergely Bogányi, up till now known as a major performer of mainly Romantic works, is playing Shostakovich. He plays the Piano Concerto of the Soviet-Russian composer, whose Neobaroque characteristics match the Bach suite that starts the programme. The piece gives – unusually – a key role to the trumpet. (The composer originally intended to write a trumpet concerto, but later he added a piano part.) However, in the end the piece metamorphosed into a piano concerto in which the trumpet comments ironically on the keyboard. Fazil Say, world-famous pianist and jazz musician wrote the Trumpet Concerto (2010) for young Hungarian artist Gábor Boldoczki, considered to be worthy successor to Maurice André. The work, which demands extraordinary virtuosity, draws on the composer’s Turkish folk music roots and attraction to jazz. After the piece of Fazil Say the orchestra (under the baton of Kossuth Prize-winner Ádám Medveczky) perform the Symphony No. 9. composed by Shostacovich: the work was originally intended to be a celebration of the Russian victory over Nazi Germany in World War II. By the end the symphony turned out to be a completely different work from the one had been originally planned: it has no tragic-heroic character, but a transparent and bright mood.

related galleries