Hungarian Gems 1.

Buy ticketBuy season ticket

ERKEL: Mária Bátori – overture
DOHNÁNYI: Concertpiece in D major, Op. 12
FARKAS: Trittico concertato
KODÁLY: Concerto for Orchestra

Miklós Perényi cello
Concerto Budapest
Conductor: Ádám Medveczky

The concert programme spans the ages from 1841 to the 1960s. True to the spirit of the Hungarian Gems series, it draws deeply on both established and hidden values of our music history. For example, the overture to Ferenc Erkel’s first opera is a rare visitor indeed to our concert halls: the composition, bringing together into symphonic unison the principal melodies of Bátori Mária, came to the forefront of the opera on 4 February 1841, six months after the premiere promoting the Pest Hungarian Theatre gaining ‘national’ rank. In the next number, the most experienced Erkel conductor of our day, Ádám Medveczky, hands over the principal role to Miklós Perényi, since Concertpiece (1903-04) by Ernő Dohnányi gives centre stage to the cello, an instrument close to the heart of the composer because his father was an amateur cellist. In the same way, Trittico concertato by Ferenc Farkas also bears the promise of hearing the great Hungarian cellist: the debuting instrumental soloist, and at the same time the person who commissioned the work for the 1965 Venice Biennale, was the major Spanish musician Gaspar Cassadó. There is an international association to the final piece on the programme, too: Zoltán Kodály’s Concerto was written at the behest of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and its world premiere was staged by the then 50-year-old ensemble on 6 February 1941.

The concert could be visited with the following season tickets