Mozart Day - Gábor Takács-Nagy and Concerto Budapest

La clemenza di Tito – overture, K. 621
Piano Concerto No. 23 in A major, K. 488
Symphony No. 34 in C major, K. 338

Ivett Gyöngyösi - piano, Concerto Budapest
Conductor: Gábor Takács-Nagy

We're broadcasting this performance live! CLICK HERE TO WATCH LIVESTREAM

Overture, concerto, symphony – the standardized format of orchestral concert programmes serves up three stages of Mozart’s oeuvre, this time in chronologically reversed order. The opera seria commissioned for the celebrations in Prague marking the coronation of King of Bohemia Leopold II, La clemenza di Tito (The Clemency of Titus) and its splendid overture date from the final year in the life of the composer, September 1791. The A major piano concerto (performed with solo by Ivett Gyöngyösi) was born half a decade earlier, in 1786, a year that saw the Mozart works catalogue enriched with very many items. At the heart of the work is the F-sharp minor Adagio radiating unceasing pain, yet with one sudden switch we are transported into the explosively high-spirited rondo. Finally, the programme conducted by Gábor Takács-Nagy closes with the C major symphony (August 1780) written in the final full year served under the prince-archbishop of Salzburg when the composer was already feeling heavily burdened with work: the symphony (the score of which is preserved partly in Paris, partly in Krakow) originally debuted with a modest assembly of instrumentalists, but later Mozart had it performed with an orchestra four or five times bigger in Vienna.