Concerto Master Class with Elisabeth Leonskaja

Elisabeth Leonskaja will hold a free public master class in April as part of the Concerto Master Class programme.


photo: Marco Borggreve

Elisabeth Leonskaja is coming to Concerto Budapest this spring to perform two concerts and hold a master class that will be free for the music-loving public to attend, as it is for the participants.

It is always a special cause for celebration for audiences to get the chance to welcome Elisabeth Leonskaja, the grande dame of the piano, whenever she takes the stage, which she will do at the Liszt Academy on 19 and 21 April as a guest of Concerto Budapest and András Keller, with whom she shares an artistic friendship. At her first concert, on 19 April, Leonskaja will perform the Brahms Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor, a work that demands the soloist’s complete engagement both physically and intellectually, which she will follow up at her second Liszt Academy on 21 April with Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 3 in C minor as the centerpiece of the programme, after it kicks off with the overture to Wagner’s opera Tannhäuser. Both concerts will conclude with Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony.

Before the concerts, between 5.30 pm and 8 pm on 17 April and as part of the Concerto Master Class programme, the artist will hold a free, English-language master class for piano students at Concerto Budapest’s Páva Street headquarters.

Conceived and launched by András Keller, the Concerto Master Class is a series of free university programmes constituting a necessary and useful practical supplement to academic education for future and practicing musicians. The programme is open not only to visitors from within the profession, but also to any music lovers interested in attending. Admission is free of charge but subject to advance registration and the limited number of available seats.

Start and end times of the master class:

17 April 2024, 5.30 pm-8 pm


1094 Budapest, Páva u. 10–12.

Language of instruction: English

List of active student participants and course material:

Sebestyén Pellet: 
Liszt: Après une lecture du Dante (Fantasia quasi Sonata)

Ádám Balogh: 
Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 30 in E major, Op. 109 

Mirabelle Kajenjeri:
Chopin: Piano Sonata No. 3 in B minor, Op. 59 

To register, send an email to The orchestra accepts registrations on a first-come, first-served basis, subject to availability.