Thomas Adés & Concerto Budapest

Prokofiev: Autumnal Sketch, op. 8
Tchaikovsky: Francesca da Rimini - symphonic poem, op. 32
Thomas Adès: Totentanz

Conductor: Thomas Adès

One key aim of the Concerto Open series is to present contemporary artists and works to the Hungarian music-loving public that are internationally renowned but perhaps less well-known in Hungary. This evening, Concerto Budapest's guest will be Thomas Adès, who will not only conduct the ensemble but also present his own composition Totentanz, written in memory of the Polish composer Witold Lutosławski. Adès's work is preceded on the programme by a brace of works by two well-known and popular Russian composers: Prokofiev's Autumnal Sketch is followed by Tchaikovsky's symphonic poem Francesca da Rimini, in which the composer portrays the tragedy of condemned souls through a character from Dante's Divine Comedy.